My summers before an upcoming Fall semester were tons of fun. I would be able to catch up with old friends, enjoy good weather, and decompress from the life of all-nighters before the big exam. In all that fun it’s easy to get caught up in the moment of peer pressure while out with friends and make regrettable decisions. If your decisions involve using a Fake ID, know that there are some very serious consequences if you get caught.
In Missouri, if you are charged with possessing a Fake ID you are facing a misdemeanor carrying penalties of a $1000 fine and up to 1 year in jail. Additionally, under Missouri’s “Abuse and Lose” law, you could be facing a suspension of your driver’s license.
For Missouri students that go to school in other states, Fake ID laws could be harsher depending upon the laws of that state. As you prepare for the Fall semester, don’t get caught with a Fake ID. If you do, please don’t let that be a mark on your record forever and contact a criminal defense lawyer that can help.