How much time will I do for a misdemeanor or felony?
If you are charged with a crime in Missouri, chances are you could be facing serious time in jail and/or fines. The amount of time behind bars and/or fine you are facing depends on the the type of crime that you have been charged with. The Missouri legislature recently revamped Missouri's criminal laws. Part of the legislature's revisions, which took effect on January 1, 2017, was to change the classes of crimes and the ranges of punishment associated with both felonies and misdemeanors. The ranges of punishment in Missouri for felonies are as follows:
- Class A Felony: between ten and thirty years of jail time or life imprisonment.
- Class B Felony: between five and fifteen years of jail time.
- Class C Felony: between three and ten years of jail time and fines of up to $10,000.
- Class D Felony: jail time that is not to exceed seven years and/or fines of up to $10,000.
- Class E Felony: jail time not to exceed four years and/or fines of up to $10,000.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, the ranges of punishment are as follows:
- Class A Misdemeanor: jail time that is not to exceed one year and/or fines of up to $2,000.
- Class B Misdemeanor: jail time that is not to exceed six months and/or fines of up to $1,000.
- Class C Misdemeanor: jail time that is not to exceed fifteen days and/or fines of up to $700.
- Class D Misdemeanor: Fine of up to $500 (no jail time is allowed under this class).
Sometimes sentencing enhancement can apply to your crime which will allow the prosecutor to pursue additional jail time in addition to the schedules above. An example of that would be prior and persistent drug offenders.
If you are charged with a crime, it is important to know what your exposure is under the law. As we've previously discussed, probation may be an option for you to avoid jail time as a result. It is always best to consult with a criminal defense lawyer early in your case to understand your options.